Poached Eggs with Sweet Potato and Spinach

I love a good sunday brunch as well as the next girl. What I don’t love, is the feeling I get after eating a greasy plate of Benny…albeit  its delicious at the time, but my stomach hates me for hours afterwards! My laziness last weekend deterred me from hiking the 2 blocks to the grocery store, so I created this dish from healthy items that were already hanging out in my kitchen.

Ingredients: 

-1 Sweet Potato                                        -2 Eggs

-2 cups of Spinach                                  -1 cup of Arugula

-1/4 cup of diced red onion                  -1/2 cup of corn

-1 tbs fresh Basil                                    -2 tbs chopped green onion

Method: 

Preheat oven to 350. Slice sweet potato width ways into english muffin size pucks. Microwave sweet potato for 2 minutes and then place in oven on a baking sheet and bake for 10 minutes on each size or until golden. While the sweet potatoes are in the oven, boil a medium pot of water and poach eggs. At the same time, heat a large skillet and toss in spinach and arugula with a dash of olive oil until wilted. Once all parts are cooked, assemble sweet potatoes with spinach and arugula on top. Top with corn, red onion and green onion and finally, the poached egg. Garnish with fresh basil and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Poached Eggs with Sweet Potato and Spinach

Leave a comment