Pumpkin Hummus

American Thanksgiving is just around the corner which means large gatherings of friends and family centred around a whack load of food.  Although I will not be celebrating because I am Canadian and already had my feast,  I would like to share this fantastic appetizer I made for my family this year. Pumpkin seems to be everywhere this season and I thought I would jump on board! I really like a good presentation so I carved out a little pumpkin and placed the dish with the hummus inside.. super cute!

IMG_4361Ingredients: 

– 1 15 oz  can of pumpkin puree (NOT the pie filling)                 -1 15oz can of Chickpeas

– 1 clove of garlic                                                                                        – I lemon

– 1 tsp cumin                                                                                                 – salt and pepper

– 1 tsp nutmeg                                                                                             – 1 tsp cinnamon

 – crushed pumpkin seeds (for garnish)                                            – 2 tbs tahini (optional.. I really like it! )

– 1 tbs water

Method: 

Combine pumpkin, chickpeas, garlic, lemon (juice) cumin, cinnamon, nutmeg and tahini (optional) in a food processor and blend until smooth.

If it is TOO thick, add water until your desired thickness is achieved.

Add salt and pepper to taste.

Garnish with crushed pumpkin seeds and enjoy!

xo

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Hummus

  1. In Israel and all over the Middle East – Hummus is a basic, staple food in its basic form (feel free to visit my page and view my recipe). But over the past decade or so it has become only the base for so many delicious, nutritious recipes. Love you pumpkin hummus (-:

  2. One more thing: your paste doesn’t include chickpeas, from what I see, right? I mean – did you use the word “Hummus” here to describe a paste similar to that of the original chickpea hummus?

  3. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your wwblog and check agan here frequently.
    I’m quie sure I’ll learn a lot of new stuff righut here!
    Best of luhck for the next!

Leave a Reply

