Coconut Blueberry Banana Bread (Paleo)

A few weeks ago, Ryan and I decided to start eating Paleo. What does that mean? No grains, no dairy, no sugar and no legumes. I know what you may be thinking. CRAZY! I thought the same thing. The thought of living my life without the goodness of cheese and chocolate scared me half to death… and no baked goods?! How was I ever going to survive! And then something magical happened.. I discovered Coconut Flour! My Paleo fear started to subside and I started to bake.

I am not trying to toot my own horn here, but this (in my opinion) is the best banana bread I have ever had. Try and tell me what you think:)

IMG_3515

Ingredients: 

– 1/2 cup of coconut flour                                                                 -4 eggs

-3 tbs unsweetened apple sauce                                                     -1/2 cup of walnuts (optional)

-1/2 cup of organic blueberries (fresh or frozen)                       -1/3 cup of coconut oil

-2 tsp of vanilla                                                                                    – 2 ripe bananas

-1 tsp  cinnamon                                                                                -1/2 tsp sea salt

-1/4 tsp baking soda

Glaze: 

-1/4 cup of raw honey                                                                        -1/4 cup unsweetened coconut

Method: 

SO easy.

Preheat oven to 375 degree.

Mix all dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside.

In a separate bowl, mix together mashed banana, vanilla and eggs.

Mix wet and dry ingredients together.

Once combined, fold in melted coconut oil and apple sauce.

Then fold in blueberries and walnuts.

Place in oven and bake for 45 min.

Half way through baking, I brush melted honey on top of the loaf and sprinkle unsweetened coconut on top. It makes such a nice glaze and adds depth.

This loaf is amazing… You don’t have to trust me… try it for yourself!

xo

One thought on “Coconut Blueberry Banana Bread (Paleo)

Leave a Reply

