The Perfect Caprese Salad

I absolutely love the simplicity of the Caprese Salad. With only 3 main ingredients, its a whiz to put together and will please any crowd. Ill have to admit… I HATED tomatoes until I was in grade 12 and I decided it was time to grow up and learn to like them. I discovered the Caprese Salad on Spring Break and BAM! I now LOVE tomatoes and I don’t know how I ever lived without them.

Hint:  A lot of people make Caprese Salad with Bocconcini Cheese.. I much prefer to use Buffalo Mozzarella which is often a lot softer and has much more flavour.

IMG_3422

Ingredients: (per 2 people )

– 2 Beefsteak Tomatoes                                              – 1 Ball of Buffalo Mozzarella

-1 Bunch of Basil                                                         -1 Bunch of fresh Arugula

– Drizzle of Olive Oil                                                   -Drizzle of Balsamic Glaze (I Use Nonna Pia’s Gourmet Balsamic Reduction)

– Salt and pepper

Method: 

Slice Tomatoes and Buffalo Mozzarella approximately 1/4 inch thick. Assemble alternating Tomatoes, Basil and Cheese, about 2-3 slices of each. Please on a plate on top of a handful of fresh Arugula. Drizzle with Olive Oil and Balsamic Glaze and season with Sea Salt and fresh ground Pepper.

Serve as an appy or as a main, either way it will be a hit!

xo

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

