BBQ Chicken and Pineapple Kebobs

Spring is almost here and that means BBQ Season! My man and I were fortunate to get a new Weber a few weeks ago and we have used it almost every night. I love to BBQ and there are so many different things you can do…and I am going to try and do them all!  I am a big fan of meat and fruit together and I love the smokey flavour the BBQ gives to pineapple. Combining that smokey taste with BBQ chicken is just a match made in heaven and tastes very tropical.

IMG_3362

Tip: When cooking kebobs do not assemble them with items that cook at a different speed. I chose to cook my my pineapple on a separate skewer because the chicken will take much longer to cook than the pineapple and you want all items to be cooked evenly.

Ingredients:

-1 Chicken breasts per 3 skewers                   -BBQ Sauce

-1 Red Onion                                                       -4-6 Pineapple chunks per skewer

-Fresh Cilantro                                                   -Fresh lime juice

Method: 

These bad boys are so easy to make and they take almost no time at all.

To start off, soak the skewers in water for an hour so they don’t burn on the BBQ (trust me.. I learned the hard way! )

I like to marinade my chicken for at least an hour as it makes the chicken really moist. Marinade it in BBQ sauce and some fresh cracked pepper. Cut the chicken and red onion into 1 inch cubes and assemble on skewers alternating between chicken and onion. Assemble pineapple skewers.

Turn on the BBQ to medium-high heat. Cook chicken skewers only a few minutes aside to cook through. The pineapple skewers shouldn’t take too long, cook them long enough so they have a nice char on each side.

When skewers are cooked though, assemble on a plate and garnish with fresh cilantro and fresh lime juice. BAM!

 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

