Mexican Quinoa

I have said it before, and I will say it again… I LOVE QUINOA ! It is incredibly versatile and good for you to boot! I seem to have food on the brain 95% of the day.. and most of my recipes come from an epiphany  I have at work when I am incredibly hungry and trying my best not to procrastinate while checking the latest on Pinterest. This one came to me at work last week and watching my co-worker Jordi eat a delicious bowl of Chilli his wife made for him….  my thought processes go like this… “mmmmm that chilli looks gooooooooood… looks like its got quinoa in it.. yum, good idea mrs Jordi.. oohhh fresh guacamole on top..I need to make this…but different.. MEXICAN QUINOA!!! thats my process and it seems to work for me oddly and with no rhyme or reason. Here is the recipe plain and simple:)

 Ingredients: 

– 2 cups cooked Quinoa                                                         – 1 cup black beans

– 1 cup corn                                                                           – 1-2 cups cooked ground turkey

– 1/2 cup chopped green onions                                            -1/2 cup fresh guacamole

– 1/4 cup thick greek yogurt (in place of sour cream)          -1/2 cup fresh salsa

– pepper, salt, LOTS of garlic to taste                                  – 1-3 tbs red pepper flatkes

-olive oil (enough to cook with)

Method:

This is one of the easiest meals to make and assemble. Start by cooking the Quinoa. Then fully cook ground turkey. Warm up (I chose a pan) the corn and black beans. When all is cooked and warm, assemble in a large dish or bowl, add green onions and top with fresh salsa, guacamole and yogurt. Let the eaters of this dish spoon it out themselves and have some extra bowls of yogurt, guac and salsa for toppings. I like to add a bit of hot sauce or cheese as well.. but taste and spice is totally up to you…. EASY PEASY!

enjoy everyone! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

