Classic Breakfast Salad

Salad for breakfast you may say?? Yes… it’s true. It exists and its amazing. I know it may sound a little weird, and that is the initial reaction I get from my friends when I tell them about it, but rest assured, its delicious andnutritious! This version was the first one I created, there are a few more versions coming soon.. but to me this one is a classic. Its all of the things I love for breakfast in salad form. Its got  tons of flavour and fills you up nicely while still being clean and light.

I really like starting my days off with a healthy meal…. I mean, If nothing else goes right in my day, at least I know I had a salad for breakfast!

Ingredients: (serves 2) 

-4 cups of Mixed Greens of Baby Spinach                        -1/3 cup of Diced Red Onion

– 12  Halved Grape Tomatoes                                              -1 Large Avocado

-1/2 Cup of Shredded Cheddar Cheese                              – 4-6 Slices of Turkey Bacon (Or regular Bacon if preferred)

– 1 TBS of Balsamic Vinaigrette                                         -1 or 2  Large Free Range Eggs

-2 TBS Fresh chopped Basil                                                 -1/2 TBS Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Assembly: 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

I like to make things easy when I am cooking. Soooo the first thing I try to do is chop/shred/prepare everything I am going to need, so when you get to the cooking part, it goes smoothly and you aren’t searching for things. In a large bowl, combine mixed greens, chopped avocado and diced red onion. Toss lightly with balsamic vinaigrette.

Now, when it comes to cooking the bacon, my preference is to bake it in the oven at 350 on a slotted pan or a baking sheet covered in parchment paper, until crisp. I find with this method that; A) that the bacon is evenly cooked every time, and B) that the house doesn’t smoke up and smell like bacon! When bacon is cooked, remove from oven and julienne. Set aside for salad assembly.

While the bacon is in the oven, cook the halved grape tomatoes on medium heat in a pan with a 1/2 TBS and toss with fresh basil for about 5 minutes or until softened.

While tomatoes are softening, poach eggs. 

In two deep bowl or plates, assemble salad mixture and toss sauteed grape tomatoes around it. Top with shredded cheddar and julienned bacon. Place poached eggs atop the salad and season with salt and pepper.

My favourite part of this salad is when you break the yolks, it melts the cheddar and asks like a dressing on the salad. SUPERB!

Try this one my friends, ENJOY!

One thought on “Classic Breakfast Salad

Leave a Reply

